How Can I Write The Perfect Resume?

How Can I Write The Perfect Resume?

Is there any such thing as a perfect resume? I have had so many changes on my resume and even had three different resumes for the same roles. The thing with resumes is that it will never be perfect. I find enjoyment in asking different people to look over my resume and provide some feedback. Now, I do appreciate their remakes because, in the long run, it helps me. So, I make my adjustments and send it back to that person for further review. Each time someone had something to add or even suggest what I had recently changed to change it back to the original version. I tell you, I throw up my hands every time and say I will never get that ''perfect" resume. If it does exist I may never get there. Thankfully there is a lot of free help and along with paid help. Let us dive in and see how we can get close to a perfect resume. We need to first ask some questions about our current resume and if some of these questions confuse you it's okay especially if you are just starting a career in the tech field. The tech resume is very different than another career resume which no one told me and says "Hey Britt, this resume will not be like your normal resumes so get ready for that". I had to learn this by failing and having people laugh at my resume. Okay, let's ask these questions now to prepare you.

The first question is is your resume competitive? Employers get hundreds of resumes every day, and for every one job that is posted, 118 plus people apply for it, making the job hunt all the more challenging. So does your resume stand out and if the answer is no how can you make your resume stand out from the others? You will need to have keywords capturing the attention of the gatekeeper. If you don't know what a gatekeeper is they are the person who decides if you can go to the next level. They are the ones who pass your resume on up the latter and even may call you for an informative interview or what I like to call it a personality test phone call. The second question is do you have clickable links? Have clickable when you send the recruiter your resume via google docs or in a PDF format is something very important. It makes it easier for the reviewer to access your portfolio, Github pages, highlighted projects, send you an email if they are interested in you. Now if you don't have those links easily accessible they may stop looking over your resume and move onto the next candidate. The third question may sound like a little stupid but you will be surprised at how common this can happen. Is it readable? Pretty much every company uses some kind of recruitment software to speed up their hiring. Over ninety percent of resumes are discarded before they reach a hiring manager or a recruiter! But moving on to readability. We have to make sure what you have typed makes sense. You need to understand what you have on your resume and be able to explain without using a bunch of synonyms. If the past I have been guilty of that one. The last thing you must ask is do you have a clear outline of your skills and job history. The person reading or glancing over your resume wants to quickly see if you are a contender for the role and if your resume is not clearly outlined then guess what?? They will move on to the next person just like that. Sad right? I know. Almost makes you want to cry.

I do have some easy ways to start building your resume that will help you with the look you need to be competitive and stand out. Lucky for us there are a lot of free templates and also a lot of good templates that cost a few dollars. If you want an already made template and you just need to add your information into it go check out Etsy and search for a resume templates. They have great templates that will get you noticed. Now if you want to check out online resume builders here are a few that are free.